General Classification of Licences

Licensing requirements vary according to the type of economic activity involved. The common types of licences and the authorising departments are as below:

SectorEconomic activities


Authorising department


(Manufacturing sector)

General manufacturingEconomic and Technological Development Bureau (DSEDT)
Food processing
Drug manufacturing

Economic and Technological Development Bureau and

Pharmaceutical Administration Bureau (ISAF)

TradingControlled commoditiesEconomic and Technological Development Bureau (DSEDT)
Wireless communications equipmentMacao Post and Telecommunications Bureau (CTT)

Tourism and


Travel agenciesMacao Government Tourism Office (MGTO)

Saunas, massage parlours, health clubs,

Karaokes, bars

Billiard establishments, internet cafes, amusement game centresMunicipal Affairs Bureau (IAM)
Civil engineeringInfrastructure, renovation, maintenance projectLand and Urban Construction Bureau (DSSCU)
EducationPrivate education institutions (continuing learning), tutorial centresEducation and Youth Development Bureau (DSEDJ)

Wholesale and


Telecommunications equipmentMacao Post and Telecommunications Bureau (CTT)
Fresh or frozen meats, fishery catches and vegetablesMunicipal Affairs Bureau (IAM)

Food and


Restaurants, simple dining establishments, food kiosks inside hotelsMacao Government Tourism Office (MGTO)
Drinking establishments and dining establishmentsMunicipal Affairs Bureau (IAM)

Service industry


Credit institutions (including banks)Monetary Authority of Macao (AMCM)
Other Financial institutions (including financial leasing company, payment service provider)
TransportationCargo transportationEconomic and Technological Development Bureau (DSEDT)
MedicineMedicine store, pharmacies, traditional Chinese medicine pharmaciesPharmaceutical Administration Bureau (ISAF)
Medicine importation and exportation
Real estate

Estate agent, broker,

condominium management service provider

Housing Bureau (IH)