Brief Introduction

Brief Introduction

Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area covers Macao Special Administrative Region, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and nine cities in Guangdong Province, namely, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Foshan, Huizhou, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Jiangmen and Zhaoqing. As of 2022, the Greater Bay Area occupied a total area of around 56,000 square kilometres and had a population of more than 80 million; the GDP of the area was over RMB13 trillion, making the area one of the regions that features strong economic vitality and a high degree of openness and internationalisation in China.



Core cities of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area: **Guangzhou**: Heart of the city cluster and the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, gateway city;

Shenzhen: International technology and industrial innovation centre, complex of global high-end financial industries;

Hong Kong: International financial, shipping and trade centre, international aviation hub;

Macau: World Centre of Tourism and Leisure, Commercial and Trade Co-operation Service Platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries, base of Chinese cultural exchange and co-operation;